Lifestyle

Valentines Day

A little about Saint Valentines – From the little information that people (and legends) managed to gather from the ancient saint.

“Valentine was a priest who served during the third century in Rome. When Emperor Claudius II decided that single men made better soldiers than those with wives and families, he outlawed marriage for young men. Valentine, realizing the injustice of the decree, defied Claudius and continued to perform marriages for young lovers in secret. When Valentine’s actions were discovered, Claudius ordered that he be put to death”

However, others believed that –

“Valentine may have been killed for attempting to help Christians escape harsh Roman prisons, where they were often beaten and tortured. According to one legend, an imprisoned Valentine actually sent the first “valentine” greeting himself after he fell in love with a young girl–possibly his jailor’s daughter–who visited him during his confinement. Before his death, it is alleged that he wrote her a letter signed “From your Valentine,” an expression that is still in use today.”


Despite all the speculations and stories, Saint Valentines was deemed as a heroic, firm believer and activist of Love.

Ever since I was old enough to know what Valentine’s Day even was, It was always a day I look forward to. Not because of any vein reasons. I remember I loved going to school on Valentine’s day because of the arts and craft session – not because of boys and receiving/giving cards. But it was fun because there would always be red/pink cards, glitters and just all sorts for us to create.

I love the atmosphere, the decorations. I love how it’s a celebration for love, something we have every second of the day but neglect most the times.

Some people think it’s silly and embarrassing it’s my favourite day. Some people think it’s fitting to my personality. I’m not ashamed to be honest, I’m aware it’s not a real holiday.

“A true relationship, it should feel like Valentine’s day everyday” I agree with this statement, but not everyone is lucky enough to experience that.

To me, it’s not about chocolates, flowers or candlelight dinner. To be very honest, I’ve never had a spectacular Valentine’s day that made me deem it as my favourite day. It was nothing like that. In fact, I’ve never received flowers or chocolates before for Valentine’s day. It’s been my favourite day because it’s a day to honour the sweethearts. It’s not a day where I think “I better receive flowers and chocolates.” “I can’t wait to receive this or that.” Rather than receiving, it’s the idea of giving. Remind the sweethearts their position in your heart, remind them they are loved. It should be every day as I said, but as we’re all humans, we tend to neglect that. This world is cruel enough, don’t give up on Love.

I spent Valentine’s Day not what I had hope for yesterday. Sweet gestures from others are kind, however it won’t touch your heart unless it’s from the right person. I wasn’t able to make it special for the person I had in mind. Despite all the hard times, it was still worth everything to hear the words “Happy Valentine’s Day” from him though. Lame right.

You guys should give this song a listen “Bless the broken road” – It’s sweet.

Leave a Reply

